Assault Defined Under Minnesota Law
In this article, you will learn:
- How assault is defined in Minnesota and the potential aggravating factors or penalties
Assault is defined as any behavior that is either offensive or done intentionally to another person. Now, that could be screaming and yelling at them, cursing at them, or chasing them with your car. Obviously, the assaults that we’re most familiar with are physical – so any kind of contact that’s unwanted. These are the basics of assault in Minnesota.
Factors That Could Enhance Or Aggravate An Assault Charge In Minnesota
The seriousness of any injuries to the other party and whether there are weapons involved can be two of the most prevalent aggravating factors.
Potential Penalties For An Assault Conviction In Minnesota
Possible penalties for assault in Minnesota include up to 90 days for a misdemeanor with a $1,000 fine and up to $3,000 and a year in jail for a gross misdemeanor.
For more information on Assault Charges in Minnesota, a free initial consultation is your best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (612) 305-8529 today.
Free Consultation Let’s Discuss Your Case